top of page

Yes, I drew it! And here's how I did it.

My progress for my last master art study for John Singer Sargent’s Mrs. Cecil Wade. Yes, I did draw it, but I still have much to learn. (As you can see, Mrs. Cecil Wade grew a couple of mm for her to look right, haha.) But that’s the thing, just keep observing, just keep practicing, and be happy with your progress, no matter how small it is. You WILL get better. ;) Feel free to follow me on my journey in learning Concept Art, and I’m here to prove that being disciplined practice works!

Tips for rendering this kind of artwork: 1. Block out the large shapes first. As you can see, it took me about 5 frames here to get it just right (still working on it), but this will save you time in the long run when you begin to add details. 2. Values comes next. Get those values (darks and lights) down right. I do this as I block out the shapes with the basic values, but add in the shadows and lights within the shapes to give the background and figure depth. 3. Now tidy up the edges. Remember, objects in focus are sharper at the edges (like Mrs. Cecil Wade’s face) and objects further away from focus have softer edges. I chose to start with a softer brush for the background and basic shapes first and then a sharper brush as I begin to work on the object of focus (the dress, face). If anyone knows a more efficient way, let me know! 4. I work throughout my piece at a given time, looking and drawing the piece as a whole, rather than just work on one part of the piece at a time. If I focus too much at one part on the piece, I may fail to notice that the whole image is entirely off and all my hard work on the part of the piece is, well, for nothing. 5. Keep practicing! I’ll be back with more WIPs and tips to keep you motivated! ^^

Take care! Love, Tuyet aka Snowgem


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Classic
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Patreon_logo.svg
bottom of page